Call for Nominations for the 2009 SHA Dissertation Prize

The 2009 SHA Dissertation Prize will be awarded to a recent graduate whose dissertation is considered to be an outstanding contribution to historical archaeology. A prepublication contract to have the dissertation copublished by the SHA and the University Press of Florida and a \$1,000 cash prize will be given to the individual with the winning dissertation. The cash portion of the prize will be paid when the revised dissertation is acceptable to the press.

To be considered for the 2009 prize, which will be awarded at the annual meeting in January 2009, nominees must have defended their dissertations and received a Ph.D. within three years prior to 30 June 2008. Two unbound copies of the dissertation must be provided to James E. Ayres, chair of the SHA Dissertation Prize Subcommittee, by the date noted below. The dissertation copies will not be returned (unless the reviewers have made comments they wish to pass on to a nominee). The nominator or nominee must provide the chair of the subcommittee with the nominee's current mailing address, e-mail address, and telephone number(s).

Nominations must be made by nonstudent SHA members and must consist of a nomination letter that makes a case for the dissertation. Self-nominations will not be accepted. NOMINEES MUST BE MEMBERS OF THE SOCIETY FOR HISTORICAL ARCHAEOLOGY.

Nominees must be willing to accept a prepublication contract with the University Press of Florida, and winning the prize will, as with all SHA publications, require assignment of the copyright of the manuscript and any royalties from the publication of the paper to the SHA.

The dissertation must not be under consideration for publication elsewhere.

Deadline for receipt of all materials (nomination letter or letters and copies of dissertations) is 18 July 2008.

The subcommittee is expected to reach a consensus on the winner by no later than 17 October 2008.

For more information or to submit nomination materials, contact James E. Ayres, 1702 East Waverly, Tucson, AZ 85719; phone: 520-325-4435; fax: 520-620-1432; email: <jammar@post.com>.

Dissertation Prize Subcommittee: James Ayres (Chair), Charles Ewen, Teresita Majewski, Paul R. Mullins, Mark S. Warner, and LouAnn Wurst

Previous Dissertation Prize Winners:

- 2002 Michelle M. Terrell, <u>The Jewish Community of Early Colonial Nevis: A Historical Archaeological Study</u>, published by SHA-UPF in 2004
- **2003** Kurt Jordan, *The Archaeology of Iroquois Restoration: Settlement, Housing, and Economy at a Dispersed Seneca Community, ca. A.D. 1715-1754*
- **2004** Nathan Richards, *Deep Structures: an Examination of Deliberate Watercraft Abandonment in Australia*
- **2005** J. Cameron Monroe, *Building Dahomey: Landscape, Architecture and Political Order in Atlantic West Africa*
- **2006** Elizabeth Kellar, Construction and Expression of Identity: An Archaeological Investigation of the Laborer Villages at Adrian Estate, St.John, USVI
- 2007 Elizabeth Jordan, "From Time Immemorial": Washerwomen, Culture, and Community in Capetown, South Africa
- 2008 Sarah Croucher, Plantations on Zanzibar: An Archaeological Approach to Complex Identities